Sep. 25th, 2002

spiderdust: (Default)
I went to the store meeting tonight.

I'm now pondering whether or not to talk to the store manager about something. A few times tonight (not during the actually meeting, but before it & after, when people were kind of "socializing"), some people made some jokes about gay bars, and never wanting to be caught dead in one, and saying "so-and-so must be a lesbian because she has a multicolored striped sweater", etc. Kinda stupid, mildly homophobic stuff.

However, they said this stuff in front of me, while I'm standing there, drinking out of a Rainbow Pride sports bottle.

Maybe they didn't see the sports bottle. I'm sure they didn't notice that the pendant I was wearing was a goddess figure with a pink triangle on her chest. I don't really make a point of broadcasting my orientation at work, maybe only one or two people know about it; it just never comes up. But none of that matters... what does matter is that I suddenly felt uncomfortable, felt like I should say something, but didn't know what to do.

So what the fuck should I do now? I'm not looking to get anyone into any trouble, and I don't want to be a tattletale... but I still feel like I need to do something.
spiderdust: (ghost)
Well kids, here it is, the Name Dropping Meme. Very simply, you pick this meme up, you add your name to it and where you got it from... leaving all the previous "gots" in. Such as:

I, [livejournal.com profile] spiderdust, got this meme from [livejournal.com profile] noelfigart, who got it from [livejournal.com profile] valkyrwench, who got it from [livejournal.com profile] griffen, who got it from [livejournal.com profile] amberfox, who got it from [livejournal.com profile] twfarlan, who started it.

today

Sep. 25th, 2002 10:37 pm
spiderdust: (gits)
~Went to my OccMed appointment, had my wrist looked at. It seems to be healing ok, but there was some numbness in my pinky and the side of my hand, so the doctor gave me a new wrist support/brace (a soft neoprene one) & scheduled a follow-up for Friday. I'm allowed to lift up to 10 pounds now, so I can go back to work tomorrow.

~I didn't get to talk to the store manager today; he was in a meeting when I stopped by. I poked my head in, said "hi", and told him that I needed to talk to him about something later when there was time.

~Saw Metropolis again for the 2nd time this week, with [livejournal.com profile] ldyicefire this time. She cracked up laughing during the scene where the Maria-Robot does the hootchie at the men's club.

~Went to Costco today, found a Halloween costume for the Munchkin. She had been insisting for a while that she wanted to be a star for Halloween ("Do you want to be a mermaid?" "No, a star." "How about a fairy?" "No, I want to be a star." "Spider-Man?" "No, I want to be a star and have sparkly things."), but when she saw the pink unicorn costumes, she changed her mind.

Thank goodness, because I had no idea how I was going to make a star costume.

~I'm writing an angry letter to Starbucks tomorrow. [livejournal.com profile] ldyicefire & I decided to get coffee after the movie, and a Starbucks was across the street. When we went in, they still had at least 45 minutes before closing. I asked for a decaf venti coffee. Not a cappucino or a latte, I just wanted the venti coffee-of-the-day for $1.65 + tax, and I wanted it in decaf. I didn't think that would be too difficult.

I was told that they didn't have any decaf right then. Ok... how long would it take to brew some? About 3 minutes? Great! I'll have a decaf venti coffee-of-the-day, please.

Barista person: So, you want a venti decaf Americano?
Me: What? No! I just want a big regular coffee, but in decaf.
Barista person: Well, we don't have any, so I have to make you an Americano.
Annoyed Me: Fine.
(For those that don't know, a cafe Americano is diluted espresso... and costs $2.30 + tax at Starbucks.)

To further piss me off, we were charged the Americano price... and IT WASN'T EVEN DECAF.
*grumble rumble gurgle roar*
It's one thing if you're completely out of a product (and they weren't, they had decaf beans for sale), but this struck me as a case of just-too-lazy-to-make-a-new-pot.

~*ponders a Choo-Choo Bear Halloween costume*

Profile

spiderdust: (Default)
spiderdust

August 2005

S M T W T F S
  1 2 34 5 6
7 8 9 10 11 1213
14 1516 17181920
21222324252627
28293031   

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 01:29 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios